Nine Mobile County schools on state's failing schools list


The Alabama Department of Education has released its 2018 list of failing schools.

Nine of those schools are in the Mobile County Public School System.

Schools on the list include:

B.C. Rain High SchoolBooker T. Washington Middle SchoolBlount High SchoolMobile County Training SchoolScarborough Model Middle SchoolLeflore High SchoolChastang-Fournier Middle SchoolVigor High SchoolWilliamson High School

Seven of those schools were on last year's failing list. Mobile County Training School and Chastang-Fournier Middle School are the new additions.

Theodore High School was listed as failing in 2017 but is not on the 2018 failing school list.

The list is determined based on the results of a standardized test given to students in grades 3 through 8 and high school sophomores.

Monroe County High School and Escambia County High School are labeled as failing. No Schools in Baldwin, Washington, Clarke, or Conecuh Counties are on the list.

The entire list is posted below:

All content © 2018, WALA; Mobile, AL. (A Meredith Corporation Station). All Rights Reserved.

Recommended for you