The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) is set to begin enforcing the Alabama Mandatory Liability Insurance law Wednesday.
Motorists who choose to drive without liability insurance will be penalized under the Mandatory Liability Insurance law which was passed by State Legislators last year.
According to ALEA,"The MLI law provides that no person shall operate, register or maintain registration of a motor vehicle designed to be used on a public road or highway unless it is covered by a liability insurance policy"
Alabama State Trooper Captain John Malone said agencies are working together to make sure the law is enforced. "The law it allows us to review and go back all traffic citations and traffic accidents and make doubly sure that insurance was enforced at the time of the traffic citation or traffic accident."
Captain Malone said agencies will use an online insurance verification. Drivers without liability insurance will pay $200 for the first offense, $300 for a second offense, and $400 for a third or subsequent offense.
If drivers without liability insurance don't pay the fee or request a hearing within 45 days they will have their drivers license suspended for 90 days. ALEA said drivers will have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee for their license.
Alabama Department of Insurance Commissioner Jim Ridling said, “It just makes sense to have liability insurance on your vehicle because operating a motor vehicle without it drives up everyone’s rates. Do the right thing, and follow Alabama’s Mandatory Liability Insurance laws to help stabilize rates for Alabama insurance consumers.”